Cut Day

Today the Raiders must slice their roster down to the 53-man limit. I’ll be updating this page with the latest cuts.

So far, the only reported cut is William Joseph, but even if the Raiders have cut him, it wouldn’t surprise many if he was playing on the team at some point this season.

EDITED – 3:50pm

Surprisingly, the Raiders decided to part with DE Jay Richardson on cut day. The four-year veteran was once considered an integral part of the future of the Raiders’ defense. Now, he’ll have to become another team’s future if he’s to continue his NFL career.

Other now-former Raiders are FB Luke Lawton, WR Todd Watkins, OC Chris Morris, OL Brandon Rodd, DL Greyson Gunheim, S Jerome Boyd, LB David Nixon, and LB Slade Norris.

Players that attempted to make the team this year and were cut are QB Colt Brennan, FB Manase Tonga, WR Shaun Bodiford, TE John Owens, OG Alex Parsons, DE Alex Daniels, DT Kellen Heard, DL Chris Cooper, CB Joe Porter, CB Joey Thomas, and K Swayze Waters.

Cable announced that Jared Veldheer will be the starting center going into the season. The Div II offensive tackle drafted in the third round has made quite the adjustment to the pro’s by not only switching positions, but becoming an NFL starting center in his first season. Pretty amazing when you consider that many centers coming out of college take two years before they are able to get the starting job. Raiders fans know how important the position is after the Super Bowl loss to Tampa Bay.

Scouting the waiver wire

Just a quick look at some of the cuts that teams might consider bringing in to fill out their rosters.

QB – Troy Smith (BAL), Matt Leinart (ARI), John David Booty (HOU), Chris Simms (TEN)

RB – Justin Fargas (DEN), Michael Robinson (SF), Ladell Betts (NO), J.J. Arrington (PHI), Chris Henry (HOU), Samkon Gado (TEN), Andre Brown (NYG),

FB – Dan Klecko (ATL), Jason Davis (NYJ)

TE – Dan Gronkowski (DEN), Anthony Becht (ARI)

WR – James Hardy (BUF), Chad Jackson (BUF), T.J. Houshmanzadeh (SEA), Derek Hagan (NYG), Lavranues Coles (NYJ), Javon Walker (MIN), Michael Clayton (TB)

OL – Justin Hartwig (PIT), Donald Thomas (MIA)

DL – Derrick Burgess (NE) (Considered retiring), Jarvis Green (DEN)

LB -Monty Beisel (ARI), Bobby Carpenter (STL), Matt Wilhelm (SF)

DB – Quentin Demps (PHI), Cletis Gordon (DAL), Myron Rolle (TEN), Tye Hill (TEN), Chevis Jackson (ATL), Dre Bly (DET), Eric King (DET)